CJRW Sports Media Training offers a multi-faceted program that prepares coaches and athletes to positively represent themselves and their teams in media interactions. Nothing unites people quite like their passion for sports. Fans follow every spoken, posted or tweeted word through a multitude of media platforms, 24/7. Therefore, it's important to communicate properly and efficiently.  

CJRW Sports Media Training offers a series of programs tailored to meet individual needs:

Coaching the Coach – designed for coaches whose duties include regular media and community engagement.

  • Controlling the interview
  • Message development
  • Protecting, nurturing and advancing the brand image of their team

In the Spotlight – preparing athletes to communicate with comfort and confidence in the media spotlight.

  • Keeping your cool under pressure
  • Mock interviews and assessments
  • Emphasis and inflection
  • The “do’s and don’ts” of media engagement
  • Social Media – your friend … and your enemy

Rookie Camp – designed to prepare first-year athletes who have zero or limited engagement with the media

  • Who is the media?
  • Why do they think the way they do?
  • Why are they important to my career?

CJRW Sports Media Training Team

Mark Raines

  • Award-winning television news veteran 
  • Reporter, producer and news director
  • Former Fortune 500 corporate communications director
  • Has trained multiple CEOs and other executives in the art of dealing with the media

Dan Sawyer

  • Former Notre Dame Fighting Irish hockey player
  • Drafted by Calgary Flames in 1989 NHL Draft
  • Community Relations Director for the NHL's New Jersey Devils 
  • Has guided many people and organizations through effective Social Media communication campaigns

David Bazzel

  • Former Arkansas Razorbacks football player
  • Member of Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and 1984 Liberty Bowl MVP
  • Radio talk show host on KABZ
  • Creator of the Broyles Award, Battle for the Boot, Cliff Harris Award, Dan Hampton Award, and Willie Roaf Award; Founder of Little Rock Touchdown Club